This is the login panel

 

Home|Account

Return to Product Support > Learning Center > Managing Content

Content Blocking

Content Blocking allows a Site Administrator or Content Editor to block content within the site to specific Groups or exclude certain traffic (i.e. Content Spiders, Web Crawlers). Content Blocking can be enabled for an entire Site Section or individually on a specific Content Page.

To access Content Blocking, Login to the website and go to ADMIN HOME.

Click on Manage Content and Pages from the left side of the screen below to block content on a certain page. If you want to block an entire section of your site, you would click on Sections instead of pages. 

Blocking Pages

On the right side of the screen you will see a list of all pages on your website as shown below. Click on the paper/pencil icon in the Edit field to edit the blocking options.

When the page opens (for blocking specific pages), click on the Blocking Tab, and the top part of the screen is shown below:

Block Search Engine Traffic

When checked, the HTML meta tag "no follow" will be added to the page and its child pages, requesting that search engines not index this page's content.

Block Content

When checked, this page and all child pages will be blocked from all Users except Users from the desired Groups.

Allow Groups Through Blocking

When Block Content is checked, check any groups in this list that are allowed to view the content.

Custom Blocking Method

To enable custom blocking, you will enter information on the bottom part of the Blocking Tab screen, as shown below:

Select the Custom Blocking Method to determine how the page responds when it is blocked. The methods are:

  • Custom Blocking Message allows for specific copy to be entered into the Custom Blocking Message field. When a page is blocked, and the User does not have permission to view the page, the message will display.
  • Login Form allows for users with a login to access the page.
  • Registration Form allows for an addition of a registration form. The registration form may immediately add the User to a Group able to access the content. The "Register to Group" field determine which Group Users are placed in when the form is successfully completed.
Click OK when you are done to save your changes.

Blocking Sections

Click on Manage Content and Sections from the ADMIN HOME screen to block content for an entire section of your site.   

On the right side of the screen you will see a list of all sections on your website. Click on the paper/pencil icon in the Edit field to edit the blocking options.

When the record opens for the specified section, click on the Features Tab, which is shown below:

On this screen click the box in the "Blocked From Users" field. To specify groups of users who are able to access this section, click on the Section Blocking Tab at the top of the record and check all groups listed on the page that you want to have access to the blocked section. Click on OK when you are done to save your changes.

This page was last reviewed Thursday, April 12, 2012

Support

Home

Search

FAQ



space
Login
space