This is the login panel

 

Home|Account

Return to Product Support > Learning Center > Managing Users

Manage Groups

A Group is a collection of users maintained by the site. Groups are one of the main permissions mechanisms in Contensive.

Adding/Editing Groups

To add a new group to your database, login as an Administrator and click on ADMIN HOME. On the left side of your screen you will click on MANAGE USERS and then GROUPS, as shown below:

Once you click on GROUPS, a list of all available groups will be listed on the right side of your screen as shown below:

To edit a GROUP, click the paper/pencil icon to open the group record. Or, click the ADD button to open a new GROUP RECORD, which is displayed below:

DETAILS TAB

The Name of the Group, once created, should not be changed. Functionality on your site may depend on information within that group. If the name is changed, functionality may fail. The Caption of the Group has no restrictions. The caption is what displays on both the public site and within the Admin site. The Caption can be changed at any time.

Allow Group Email will enable this group to receive email using the Group Email tool.  

Allow Public Join will display the Group's Caption on public facing functionality allowing users to join Groups.

Content Authoring is the mechanism to associate Content Managers with Content.


COMMERCE TAB

Check COMMERCE ADMINISTRATOR for groups that you want to be able to create orders.

Check ALLOW ORDERING to allow this group to order from the online Shopping Cart.

Check ALLOW SPECIAL PRICE to qualify this group for any special pricing in the Shopping Cart.

Enter a number, such as .05 in DISCOUNT PERCENTAGE to give group members a 5% discount in the Shopping Cart.


AUTHORING PERMISSIONS TAB

Use this tab to check any content which members of a specific group may edit on the website.

Deleting Groups

To delete a group, go to ADMIN HOME. On the left side of your screen you will click on MANAGE USERS and then GROUPS. When the list of all groups appears on the right side of your screen, click on the box next to the group you want to delete and then click DELETE.


Adding Users to Groups

To manually add a new Person to a Group, login as an Administrator and click on ADMIN HOME. On the left side of your screen you will click on MANAGE USERS and then PEOPLE, as shown below:


This will open a list of all users in your database as shown below:

Click on the paper/pencil icon to open up the record for the person you want to add to a group. Then click on the GROUPS TAB to open up the following screen:

Check the checkbox for the group (or groups) you wish them to be in. You can include an expiration date if you want a time limit to be set. Click OK to save your changes.

To allow Users to add themselves to "Public Groups", a profile form can be created. Public Groups are those Groups set to "Public" within the Group record with a check mark  in the "Allow Public Join" check box. Groups with names that begin with the underline character "_" are only visible to developers. These can be used as "system" groups, that content managers and administrators cannot alter.  

To see how many people are in each group, use the Group List Report. Go to the admin site, to the administration menu, to Reports, and to Group List Report.
 

Creating a List of All People in a Group

To see how many people are in each group, use the Group List Report. Go to ADMIN HOME, and click on REPORTS, and then GROUP LIST REPORT.

To see who is in each group, click on the number in the Membership column for the group you are interested in from the GROUP LIST REPORT. This will show you information about each member of the group you have selected.

Send email to the people in a group

To send an email to everyone in a group, or collection of groups, use Group Email. See the group email section for more details.
 
To send an email automatically when someone joins or leaves a group, use Conditional email.

This page was last reviewed Monday, May 14, 2012

Support

Home

Search

FAQ



space
Login
space