This is the login panel



Return to Product Support > Learning Center > Managing Users > Manage People

User States/Roles

Contensive's User States and Roles are explained below.

Recognized Users

Recognized Users are returning users Contensive recognizes based on a browser's cookie. While some personalization functionality will be presented to the User, permission based functionality should not be allowed until the User has been Authenticated. 

Authenticated Users

Authenticated Users are Users who have successfully provided a username and password or have been auto-logged in from a previous visit or email.

Guests. Guests are member accounts without special permissions that belongs to no groups. They may have a username and password so they authenticate for online commerce, but they do not have access to the Admin Site and can not get through to any secure areas of the site content.

Administrators. Administrators are users that need no other permissions to view/edit content within a site. They have total control over the site, including access to people records and all content areas. They can add and remove add-ons, but can not edit or create add-ons. On websites with Workflow enabled, Administrators approve edits and publish changes.

Content Mangers. Content Managers are Users that Administrators have authorized to edit content only. For users that you want to allow to edit any content on the site, you will set up a group for CONTENT EDITORS. To add a group, login and click on ADMIN. Go to MANAGE USERS and then GROUPS. Click ADD and type the name and caption of the group for your content editors. Next click on the AUTHORING PERMISSIONS tab and check the boxes next to CONTENT and ALLOW ADD and ALLOW DELETE. Click OK to save changes. Next click on PEOPLE to select the people that you want to place in this group. Open the record for the user by clicking on the paper/pencil icon next to their name. Click on the GROUPS tab and then check the box next to the group you set up for content editors. Click OK to save changes.

If you want to set up content editors that only have access to specific content, first login and click ADMIN, TOOLS and then CREATE CHILD CONTENT DEFINITION.  You will see the following screen:

Here enter the name for the New Child Content. You will also select a current group or click the second button and then enter the name of a new group for you content editors for specific pages. Click OK to create the new Child Content.

Your next step is to click on MANAGE USERS and then PEOPLE. Click the paper/pencil icon for the user you want to put in the group you just created. Click on the GROUPS tab and then click on the group. Click OK to save changes.

Next you need to set up the pages that you want this group to be able to edit. Go to the page and click the edit tag. Click on the CONTROL INFO tab. Select your new Child Content from the drop down menu in the CONTROLLING CONTENT field. Click OK to save changes.

On websites w
ith Workflow enabled, Content Editors edit content and submit changes for approval. Content Managers do not have access to people records.

Developers. Developers have programming access to the site and the server. They are responsible for creating and maintaining site functionality and performance. They can access all Administration functions, plus the Content, Tables and Tools that form the structure of operation of the site. These users should have a good understanding of the Contensive system, API, and how site functionality is designed.

Registered Users

Registred Users are users who have provided some information about themselves to the site. The method of collecting information will vary depending on your site's implementation. Registrered Users may or may not have usernames and passwords.

Unauthenticated Users

Unathenticated Users are users that are not authenticated nor recognized. No personlization or blocked content can be delivered to these users. Typically these users are named "Guest".

This page was last reviewed Thursday, September 04, 2014